Why did GP Delete Accounts We Used in The Budgets?

Why did GP Delete Accounts We Used in The Budgets?

At year-end closing, GP has an overlooked "feature" which can corrupt your budgeting systems. During year-end close, GP will attempt to clean up the chart of accounts. By default, the system will not maintain inactive accounts. This means it will attempt to delete any account which does not have "actual" transaction postings. You might budget to accounts that are used in budgets which may not have actuals.  This is the year-end closing screen and what selections you should make to prevent discrepancies between GP and Dynamic Budgets.

In GP, Click on Year-End Closing.


It would be preferred to run the close with Maintain Inactive accounts (With Budget Amounts) checked!
Also, beware of "Remove Unused Segment Numbers"